"HP_BB_IN" - Views: 750 · Hits: 750 - Type: Public

Humble Pie - BBC Sessions 1969-1972 [A Prof. Stoned Comp 2021]
16bit/44.1khz (CD Quality) 

Session #1 

01. Natural Born Bugie
02. Sad Bag of Shakey Jake
03. Heartbeat
04. Desperation
05. 'Steve Marriott interview'
06. Natural Born Bugie (alt. take)
07. 'Peter Frampton interview'

Recorded: Maida Vale studio 5, Delaware Road, London UK, Sunday 17 August 1969
Broadcast: BBC Radio 'Symonds on Sundays': Sunday 24 August 1969
Producer: Paul Williams
Presenter: David Symonds

Session #2

01. Four Day Creep
02. Big Black Dog

Recorded: Aeolian Hall studio 2, Bond Street, London UK; Monday 27 July 1970
Broadcast: BBC Radio 'DLT'; Sunday 09 August 1970
Producer: Paul Williams
Presenter: Dave Lee Travis

Note: 'One Eyed Trouser Snake Rhumba' was also recorded and aired but does not seem to have survived in the archives or as an off-air recording.

Session #3

01. 'Yet another Sunday'
02. Four Day Creep
03. 'Not a groovy DJ program'
04. I'm Ready
05. 'You should investigate'
06. Live With Me
07. 'Rock-solid rolling forward feeling'
08. Stone Cold Fever
09. 'Not familiar with the line-up'
10. Hallelujah I Love Her So
11. 'Wandering about'
12. Walk On Gilded Splinters
13. 'Stamped address envelope'
14. Sad Bag of Shakey Jake
15. 'Harrowing story'
16. One Eyed Trouser Snake Rumba
17. 'Current single'
18. Big Black Dog
Recorded: Paris Theatre, Lower Regent Street, London UK; Thursday 10 September 1970
Broadcast: BBC Radio 'In Concert'; Sunday 20 September 1970
Producer: John Muir
Engineer: Hugh Mcdonald
Presenter: John Peel

Note: Sourced from an off-air recording of a repeat broadcast on 23 September 1970, which had a 1-min interruption during 'Live With Me'. This minute has been restored from the commonly found 1997 bootleg "On Stage" which is a recording of the initial broadcast on the 20th in lesser quality. The BBC recording does not seem to have survived in the archives; it has never been aired again since 1970 and it has been absent from any official release so far. Despite its poor quality, "On Stage" has always been popular among fans and it’s not hard to hear why: this is the group at their peak. It rivals -if not betters- the Fillmore album. This new remaster is not up-to-par with the sound quality of the other sessions here but it trounces the atrocious sounding recent unauthorized issues "Born Under A Bad Sign - Live London 1970", "On Air 1969-1970", "The Sunday Concert" or any other edition out there. 

Session #4

01. Rolling Stone (edit)
02. Four Day Creep
03. The Light
04. I Don't Need No Doctor (edit)
05. Four Day Creep [Stereo]
06. I'm Ready [Stereo]
07. Rolling Stone [Stereo]
08. The Light [Stereo]
09. I Don't Need No Doctor (complete but from flawed off-air source)

Recorded: Kensington House Studio T1, Shepard's Bush, London UK; Monday 1 March 1971
Broadcast: BBC Radio 'Sounds of the Seventies'; Friday 23 April 1971
Producer: John Muir
Engineer: John White
Presenter: Alan Black

Session #5

01. 'Intro'
02. Road Runner
03. Sweet Peace & Time

Recorded: Maida Vale studio 5, Delaware Road, London UK, Monday 07 February 1972
Broadcast: BBC Radio 'Sounds of the Seventies'; Thursday 17 February 1972
Producer: Malcolm Brown
Engineers: Mike Harding/Mike Franks
Presenter: Pete Drummond

Note: Dave Clempson has replaced Peter Frampton on lead guitar. 'C'mon Everybody' was also aired but is missing. 


Total time: 2h21m59s
All tracks are Mono except where indicated

Research & Mastering: Prof Stoned
Special thanks to Hallucalation & Mover

v1.0: 02-10-2021
v1.1: 24-10-2021 (stereo tracks added to Session #4 & Session #5 added)



A long overdue project! Humble Pie did some pretty great BBC stuff but all we have gotten so far is a long out-of-print single CD. The Band of Joy CD was produced in cooperation with the BBC and was mastered from vinyl sources, as no tape sources seem to have survived in the archives. The mono recordings come with stereo surface noise, distortion and all the intro chatter has been removed, along with the music which the DJ talked over.

The good news here is that this edition betters the sound quality of the old CD considerably and expands it with quite a few extra session tracks, all of the original announcements restored and -finally- a decent sounding version of the legendary Peel concert. The bad news is -despite extensive research- most of the sources are not of optimal quality. If you can provide lossless quality transfers of BBC transcription discs of any Humble Pie from this era, please do contact me.

Sadly, one session has not survived in any form. It was recorded at Maida Vale Studio 4 on 9/9/1969 for John Peel's "Top Gear". The tracks aired on 9/27/1969 were: 'Shakin' All Over', 'Sad Bag of Shakey Jake' & 'Walk On Gilded Splinters'.


- Natural Born Boogie ‎(CD, Album, Comp) Band Of Joy BOJCD010 UK 1995 	
- 'digital transfers from BBC transcription discs'
- 'various fan-made off-air tapes'