"TW_H69_IN.txt" - Views: 1,933 · Hits: 1,933 - Type: Public

The Who - Highlights from "The Fall 1969 Soundboard Tapes Vol. 1-5" [Prof. Stoned 2016]

01. Jerry Pompili Introduction
02. Heaven and Hell
03. Can�t Explain
04. Fortune Teller
05. Tattoo
06. Young Man Blues
07. Overture
08. It�s a Boy
09. 1921
10. Amazing Journey 
11. Sparks
12. Eyesight to the Blind
13. Tommy's Holiday Camp
14. We're Not Gonna Take it
15. Summertime Blues
16. Shakin� All Over
17. My Generation

Time: 66m42s

Tr. 03, 15-16   unknown place/date*                                                   Taken from: Vol. 1 "State University of N.Y."
Tr. 10:         State University of New York, Stony brook, NY - October 18, 1969      Taken from: Vol. 1 "State University of N.Y."
Tr. 05:         Capitol Theater, Ottawa - October 15, 1969 (1st Set)                  Taken from: Vol. 2 "Capitol Theater"
Tr. 13-14:      unknown place/date                                                    Taken from: Vol. 2 "Capitol Theater"
Tr. 01, 07-12:  Fillmore East, New York, NY - October 22, 1969                        Taken from: Vol. 3 "Fillmore East" 
Tr. 17:         Electric Factory, Philadelphia, PA - October 19, 1969                 Taken from: Vol. 4 "Electric Factory"
Tr. 04:         unknown place/date                                                    Taken from: Vol. 4 "Electric Factory"
Tr. 02, 06:     unknown place/date                                                    Taken from: Vol. 5 "Acetates"

* has been labeled as "McDonough Gymnasium, Georgetown University, Washington D.C. - November 2, 1969" 

(N.B.: Tr. 10 is composite of two different recordings which appears only on this compilation.)


Prof. sez:

This sampler is as a single best-of disc for those who find 5 volumes a bit too much. It consists of direct-to-stereo soundboard recordings that were made 
for possible inclusion on a live album during The Who's 2nd American tour of 1969. The tapes ended up being rejected in favor of what became Live at Leeds. 
Pete Townshend drastically tried to prevent the 1969 tapes from being bootlegged by destroying them, but some of the material eventually did find its way 
into circulation, albeit scattered over various poorly compiled/mastered bootlegs and with very little documentation to accompany them. 

"The Fall 1969 Soundboard Tapes Vol. 1-5" collects every single circulating recording from this tour with the exception of officially released material. 
Furthermore, the best available sources have been selected, the speed of all recordings has been corrected and everything has been newly mastered for 
optimal sonic consistency. A lot of the dates remain a mystery and probably always will, unless previously uncirculated recordings of this tour show up. 
I have attempted to select the best moments from each volume for this collection. But opinions may vary...

It has been 10 years since I first started this series. As you may know, Vol. 4+5 did not get completed at the time, even though the first 3 volumes were 
quite popular. All three ended up being professionally bootlegged on various CD's and Vol. 1 even made it to some lavishly packaged colored vinyl release 
in 2013 (no, I did not buy it).  

So why revisit this now? Quite frankly; I felt the mastering work on the 2006 volumes could be improved upon. But that's not the only reason; the requests 
to finish the series never really stopped and there was still some great material left that I had received from a few helpful people. Luckily, I kept my 
notes from 2006 which made it a lot easier to complete Vol. 4+5. I pieced Vol. 1-3 together again from scratch, rather than using the original unmastered 
files and this has led to some new insights which helped improving the overall quality. 


Oct. 2016


All original recordings made by Bob Pridden. 

Research, Notes & Sound Engineering by Prof. Stoned, Sept/Oct 2016 

Information & additional audio sources provided by Howard, Everett, Joe, Roland, Tim, Luke.

Special thanks to C.G. Whitman, whose research inspired this series.


Audio sources:
- Accept No Substitute (CD, Big 011, 1992) 
- Who is Tommy? (2CD, Dynamite Studio, DS94-A077, 1993)
- Pure Rock Theatre (CD, Hiwatt ZA59, 1996) 
- Wintertime Trip (CD, Dandelion DL 112, 1999) 
- Electric Factory 1969 (CD, NightHawk NH-02013, 2002) 
- Live at Leeds Rejects (CD, Jack Of Hearts JOH 3, 2003)