"Q6_RV_IN" - Views: 1,035 · Hits: 1,035 - Type: Public

Q65 - Revolution (1966) + 3 bonus tracks === The Mono Version === Garage, R&B, Proto-Punk
[16bit/44.1kHz CD Quality FLAC]

01. The Life I Live 
02. I Got Nightmares 
03. Just Who's In Sight 
04. Mr. Pitiful 
05. I'm A Man 
06. Middle-Age Talk 
07. Summer Thoughts In A Field Of Weed 
08. Down In The Bottom 
09. Get out Of my Life, Woman 
10. Spoonful 
11. Sour Wine 
12. Bring It On Home 

13. You're the Victor
14. And Your Kind
15. Cry In The Night

All Tracks Are The Original Mono Mixes
Never Available on CD/Download in Mono except Tr. 01, 13-15 which only exist in mono  



- Revolution (LP, Album, Mono, Ltd, RE) Pseudonym VP99.007 Netherlands 2001 -> Tr. 01-12
- Revolution (CD, Album, RE) Decca 834 483-2 Netherlands 1988 -> Tr. 13
- You're The Victor / And Your Kind (7", Single) Decca AT 10 189 1966 -> Tr. 14
- Revival (LP, Album, Ltd, RE) Pseudonym VP99.009 Netherlands 2001 -> Tr. 15


Vinyl Recorded & Mastered using:

- Technics 1210mk2 
- Jelco SA-750D Tonearm
- Audio Technica AT33PTG MC 
- Pro-Ject Tube Box SE-2 (using a matched pair of Genalex Gold Lion tubes)
- RME ADI-2 A/D Interface @ 24/96
- Audition 3.0 (editing, manual clean up)
- MBit+ dithering and Sox Resampler used for converting to standard wav format.

All mono recordings were mastered from a single stereo channel, no L+R folding was done, except Tr. 14.

CD ripped using EAC in secure mode. Upsampled in Audition, no dithering.

Compilation, Transfers & Restoration by Prof. Stoned 

Photo's of the original 1966 pressing are included.


Mastering Note:

This album was originally released in mono only in 1966. In late 1969, the original producer remixed it to stereo with a different engineer 
handling duties. The album had been recorded on 3-track only which offered limited posibilites for the stereo format. As a result, the new mix 
ended up sounding weak in comparison to the original but it became the standard version on nearly all reissues.

I'm happy to present a rare chance to hear the original mono mix of this album in fantastic quality. All credit must go to the independent 
company Pseudonym who produced the only mono reissue of this album that ever was (albeit on vinyl in a limited scale). Pseudonym has done 
multiple reissues of Q65's old work on CD for over 2 decades but sadly they always stuck with the same mastering facility who has consistently 
fucked up the sound of pretty much all their re-releases with excessive noise reduction artifacts. But somehow, this one came out unscathed.

For those wondering, I have an original Decca LP from 1966 in decent condition but like many pop records from that time, it was mastered with the 
high-end rolled-off to avoid skipping needles. It sounds charming like an old Stones record, but this version is simply a whole different experience.   

Q65's own former company Decca has since become a part of Universal and they have not done a much better job in preserving the band's catalog. 
Granted, there have been a good number of CD reissues over the years but nearly all them with horrible overcooked sound quality. Only the 1988 
CD reissue of Revolution (in stereo) I can recommend. For 'And your kind', I had to go back to the original single as the 'best' source, while 
'Cry in the Night' appears in crystal clear quality on the also limited 2001 vinyl reissue of the second album on Decca (which was actually 
a doctored compilation that came out after the group had disbanded).



Q65 in its original incarnation (mid-1965 - late 1967) was simply one of the best things that ever happened in the history of Dutch rock music.
Apart for guitarist Frank Nuyens, none of the members had a musical background but within 6 months after the formation (and without the interference 
of a professional manager), the group had a record on the national charts. 'You're the Victor' had been recorded during an audition for Decca and 
was duly released by the company who did not even bother to inform the group. It was an instant classic. No other Dutch band had yet produced 
something so ferocious yet catchy.

The band quickly upped their game with their second single, which produced their most enduring song "The Life I Live". It had been written as the
B-side to the equally impressive 'Cry in the Night' but the sides were swapped at the last moment at the suggestion of a radio deejay. It became 
their biggest hit and the go-ahead was given for a full-length record. With a sympathetic producers team assisting them in the studio 
(Hans van Hemert & engineer Jean Audier, both at about the same age as the band members), the sessions were reasonably relaxed and even allowed 
for some experimentation. In quick response to the Stones LP "Aftermath", a 14-minute mostly improvised track was added.

The record came out late in the summer of 1966 and was a great success, not least because of its reasonable retail price: 9.90 Dutch guilders.
Today, it has lost very little of its charm. Guitarist and founding member Joop Roelofs once noted: "It was not about what we were capable of doing, 
it was what we dared doing" and I think that pretty much sums up what set the Q65 apart from all the other Dutch bands of their time.