"QS_RE_IN" - Views: 804 · Hits: 804 - Type: Public

Quicksilver Messenger Service - Revolution (Original Motion Picture Score) [A Prof. Stoned Rip]
24bit/96kHz High Resolution FLAC

01. Babe, I'm Gonna Leave You
02. Codine

Both Tracks in Stereo



- Revolution (Original Motion Picture Score) ‎(LP, Comp, Ltd, RE) United Artists Records UA-LA296-G USA Mid-70s (M-)


Vinyl Recorded & Mastered using:

- Technics 1210mk2 
- Jelco SA-750D Tonearm
- Audio Technica AT33PTG MC 
- Pro-Ject Tube Box SE-2 (using a matched pair of Genalex Gold Lion tubes)
- RME ADI-2 A/D Interface @ 24/96
- Audition 3.0/5.0 (editing, manual clean up)
- Click Repair 3.9.9 (light automatic click setting)

Transfer & Restoration by Prof. Stoned



These two tracks mark the band's debut in the studio and were supposedly recorded in October 1967, just before sessions for the first album were about to start. The mastertapes of the whole soundtrack album seems to have gone missing in the 70s or early 80s. Tapeguru Bill Inglott was unable to find the tapes for the excellent 1991 compilation "Sons of Mercury" on Rhino and used a needledrop (possibly from the same pressing I have used here). The band's former label EMI released a 2CD "The Unreleased Quicksilver Messenger Service: Lost Gold And Silver" in 1999 which used an abysmal sounding source for both these tracks‎. 

The tracks here are transferred from a 70s vinyl reissue, because the original 60s pressings were mastered with a high-end roll-off and sound pretty lo-fi in comparison. For those wondering why I only did these two tracks: the rest of the LP holds no interest to me. I am aware the Steve Miller tracks are unreleased elsewhere and are his studio debut as well, but that doesn't change the fact that it's still Steve Miller... 

Anyway, enjoy these two superb recordings.
P.S. (April 2020)