"PF_MJ_IN" - Views: 1,008 · Hits: 1,008 - Type: Public

Pink Floyd - The Man & The Journey (Live in Amsterdam 1969) [Prof Stoned 2020]

01. 'House Announcement'

The Man:
02. Daybreak (Grantchester Meadows)    
03. Work
04. Tea Time
05. Afternoon (Biding My Time)
06. Doing It (The Grand Vizier's Garden Party Pt. 2)
07. Sleeping
08. Nightmare (Cymbaline)
09. Labyrinth

The Journey:
10. The Beginning (Green Is The Colour)
11. Beset By Creatures Of The Deep (Careful With That Axe, Eugene)
12. The Narrow Way [Part 3]
13. The Pink Jungle (Pow R. Toc H.)
14. The Labyrinths of Auximenes
15. Footsteps / Doors
16. Behold The Temple of Light
17. The End of the Beginning (A Saucerful of Secrets)

Total Time: 81m32s

Source: Stereo Soundboard -> Pre-FM Reel-To-Reel Master -> CDR -> FLAC -> Mastering 2020 > FLAC
Recorded Live to 2-Track by the NOS Mobile on September 17, 1969 @ Concertgebouw, Amsterdam, Netherlands for broadcasting by VPRO Radio.

Producer: Han Reiziger (VPRO)
Recording & Mixing engineer: Dick Sleeman (NOS)
Mastering: PS



For a long time, this was one of the most spectacular Pink Floyd ROIO's available. It was finally officially released in 2016 on the Early Years 1967-1972 boxset. This version has been derived from a digital clone of the complete VPRO master*, so this is essentially from the same source that camp Floyd used. I mastered this version for myself because the Early Years mastering doesn't do it for me. Also, this version is fully unedited which means it's 5 minutes longer than the official release (granted, half of that is the not rather exciting 'Tea time' in which the group drank tea on stage). The first 20 seconds are absent on the VPRO master clone and are taken from an old radio broadcast. 

'The Man & The Journey' was a suite which was performed live from spring to the fall of 1969. It consists of previously released songs and some at-the-time new material, including a few tracks which ended up on Ummagumma. Evidently, the concept is fairly loose and this is probably why it didn't stick with the group. Still, this is a fascinating document and with great soundquality if you consider this was made for a radio broadcast in 1969. 

[* If you wanna hear the VPRO master as-is; go to yeeshkul and get the Harvested edition (included as a bonus)]